Ressources par disciplines et tutoriels: Odontologie: Rechercher dans nos collections

RECHERCHER DANS NOS COLLECTIONS

> Pour chercher des livres ou des thèses, vous disposez de différents outils :

du catalogue des BU d'AMU.
du SUDOC (Dans ce catalogue, vous trouverez la bibliographie nationale des thèses, c'est-à-dire toutes les thèses soutenues en France)

> Pour consulter spécifiquement les thèses d'exercice d'odontologie d'AMU, vous pouvez consulter le SUDOC ou la base Dumas.

A partir de Septembre 2016, le dépôt des thèses d'exercice en chirurgie dentaire s'est fait sous forme mixte (dépôt papier + électronique).

A partir de 2018, les thèses sont uniquement sous format électronique.

DUMAS (Dépôt Universitaire de Mémoires Après Soutenance) est un portail d'archives ouvertes de travaux d'étudiants à partir de bac+4, validés par un jury, dans toutes les disciplines. Il propose aussi des travaux de niveau bac+3 à orientation recherche dans des domaines paramédicaux plus confidentiels. Le portail DUMAS est hébergé par HAL.

Pour vos recherches d'articles, vous disposez de nombreuses bases de données :

Clinical - Key Student

Cette plateforme de formation médicale en français contient :

45 traités EMC (Encyclopédie Médico-Chirurgicale) anciennement dans EM-PREMIUM.
Plus de 110 ebooks dont les Référentiels des Collèges, les atlas d'anatomie Gray's et Netter,
Plus de 100 000 images (photos, planches d’anatomie, schémas...),
Plus de 3 000 vidéos de dissections, de chirurgie ou d’examens cliniques.

A noter : L'accès à la base nécessite la création d'un compte avec votre adresse mail comme identifiant .

Les principaux traités EMC pour les étudiants en odontologie :

Chirurgie orale et maxillo-faciale
Orthopédie dentofaciale
Médecine buccale
Médecine d'urgence > Pathologies > Urgences stomatologiques
Radiologie et imagerie médicale - musculosquelettique - neurologique - maxillofaciale
Techniques chirurgicales - chirurgie plastique, reconstructrice et esthétique
Traité de médecine AKOS > Stomatologie, chirurgie orale & maxillofaciale

Cf.guide utilisation.

ScienceDirect - SD This link opens in a new window

Pour les étudiants en odontologie ► 94 revues en ligne

Dentistry and Oral Sciences Sources - DOSS This link opens in a new window

Base bibliographique en odontologie (contient du texte intégral).

DOSS couvre toutes les facettes ayant trait aux domaines de la dentisterie, notamment la santé dentaire publique, l'endodontie, les douleurs & la chirurgie faciales, l'odontologie, la pathologie/chirurgie faciales, l'odontologie, la pathologie/chirurgie/radiologie orales et maxillofaciales, l'orthodontologie, la pédodontie, la parodontie & la prosthodontie. La base est mise à jour toutes les semaines sur EbscoHost.

►Pour info, toutes ces publications sont indexées dans PubMed

CISMEF This link opens in a new window

►Catalogue et Index des Sites Médicaux de langue Française.

Il contient l'application HETOP.

HETOP est un outil qui vous permet de découvrir le thésaurus MESH.

Le MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) est le thésaurus de référence dans le domaine biomédical.

Ce thesaurus est structuré par la NLM (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Il est mis à jour chaque année.

C'est l'outil de référence pour indexer et interroger la base MEDLINE ou l'interface PubMed.

PubMed This link opens in a new window

Moteur de recherche en sciences biomédicales (contient MEDLINE).

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

►Vous disposez d'un guide pour vous initier à son utilisation.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window

Embase est une base de données de littérature médicale unique dont l’exhaustivité ne se limite pas au contenu. Avec l’indexation Emtree du contenu en texte intégral et des termes de recherche dédiés, vous trouvez tous les résultats pertinents et actuels. Cela inclut des informations pouvant ne pas être découvertes dans d’autres bases de données. Faites défiler vers le bas pour découvrir pourquoi les agences de réglementation recommandent Embase dans leurs lignes directrices relatives aux meilleures pratiques.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window

Cochrane est une organisation internationale indépendante et à but non-lucratif. Sa mission est de favoriser la prise de décisions de santé éclairées par les données probantes, grâce à des revues systématiques pertinentes, accessibles et de bonne qualité et à d’autres synthèses de données de recherche. Ces publications sont destinées à tous : professionnels de santé, chercheurs, patients et aidants.

Cochrane France

Accès gratuit aux résumés en français des dernières revues systématiques. Vous pouvez sélectionner dans l'onglet "Revues Cochrane" une thématique. Par exemple, "Odontologie et Santé bucco-dentaire."

►Les dernières revues probantes, protocoles & questions cliniques Cochrane en Odontologie & santé bucco-dentaire.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window

La "Core Collection" de cette plateforme contient :

►Medline

►Journal Citation Reports (JCR) => base pour découvrir les " Impact Factor" des revues.

Visible Body Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Atlas d'anatomie humaine en 3D.

Dental tribune
Mensuel
Abonnement PAPIER.
La Lettre : ordre national des chirurgiens-dentistes par Ordre national des chirurgiens-dentistes, Conseil national (Éditeur scientifique) (1945-....)
Cote: TP46839
Revue francophone d'odontologie pédiatrique par Druo, Jean-Patrick (Directeur de publication) ; Société française d'odontologie pédiatrique
Cote: TP42440

Biomatériaux dentaires cliniques : l'innovation pédagogique par ID
Date de publication: 2016-
2 accès possibles :
Lecture simple via une liseuse. (Lire la version numérique). Pas de téléchargement possible.
Par le sommaire, téléchargement pour chaque article.
L'information dentaire par ID
Date de publication: 2015-
2 accès possibles :
Lecture simple via une liseuse. (Lire la version numérique). Pas de téléchargement possible.
Par le sommaire, téléchargement pour chaque article.
Parodontologie Implantologie Orale par par ID
Date de publication: n°1, 15 juillet 2021-
2 accès possibles :
Lecture simple via une liseuse. (Lire la version numérique). Pas de téléchargement possible.
Par le sommaire, téléchargement pour chaque article.
Réalités cliniques par ID
Date de publication: 2010-
2 accès possibles :
Lecture simple via une liseuse. (Lire la version numérique). Pas de téléchargement possible.
Par le sommaire, téléchargement pour chaque article.
Stratégie prothétique par ID
Date de publication: 2015-
2 accès possibles :
Lecture simple via une liseuse. (Lire la version numérique). Pas de téléchargement possible.
Par le sommaire, téléchargement pour chaque article.
L'orthodontiste par par ID
Date de publication : n°1, 28 février 2019-
2 accès possibles :
Lecture simple par liseuse. (Lire la version numérique). Pas de téléchargement possible.
Par le sommaire, téléchargement pour chaque article.

L'orthodontie française par John Libbey / Eurotext
Date de publication: Disponible en ligne depuis 2000. Contient aussi le Vol.1, n°1, Mai 1921 & Vol.3, n°1, Mai 1924
L’Orthodontie Française, organe officiel de communication de la Société Française d’Orthopédie Dento-Faciale, est un journal scientifique de référence depuis 1921, de diffusion internationale, indexé à Medline et référencé à l’Index Medicus et à Bibliodent.

Le journal a pour vocation d’accueillir les travaux des membres de la SFODF, des conférenciers ayant communiqué lors des congrès de la Société, ou de tout travail soumis à l’approbation de son comité de rédaction, traitant de l’orthopédie dento-faciale ou de tout sujet en rapport avec cette discipline.

Les rapports (travaux de synthèse), publiés avant la plupart des congrès de printemps, pour servir de base aux discussions, constituent également des mises au point extrêmement enrichissantes pour les praticiens. La compilation, condensé des quatre numéros annuels publiés, permet de garder en bibliothèque un ouvrage de référence, une aide précieuse pour la pratique quotidienne et pour optimiser le service rendu aux patients par l’Orthopédie Dento-Faciale.

Clinic par CDP
Date de publication: 2010-
Implant par CDP
Date de publication: 2010-2020
Cahiers de prothèse
2010-2020
JPIO par CDP
2010-2020

Clinical oral implants research
Date de publication: Depuis 1999 chez Wiley. Depuis 1998cf. lien dans le DOSS
Dental Materials
Date de publication: Mais aussi, à partir de 1995 - dans ScienceDirect . Depuis 1985, cf. lien Revues 360.
International Journal of Oral Science
Date de publication: 06/01/2013 to present
International Endodontic Journal
Date de publication: 1997 jusqu'à aujourd'hui chez Wiley
Mais aussi depuis 1980 dans le DOSS
Journal of Clinical Periodontology
Date de publication: Cf. aussi Revues 360 pour les accès à partir de 1974 - Il y a 1 an (embargo) dans Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS)
Journal of Dental Research
Date de publication: 01.03.1919 jusqu'à aujourd'hui dans Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS)
Journal of dentistry
Date de publication: Depuis 2019 chez ScienceDirect mais aussi dans le DOSS pour 2012-15. Cf. lien Revues 360
Journal of Endodontics
Date de publication: Entre 1975 et 2001 Cf. Lien Revues 360
Journal of Periodontal Diseases
Date de publication: Cf. à partir de 1966 dansle DOSS
Journal of Periodontology
Date de publication: Depuis1997
Oral Diseases
Date de publication: Cf. aussi dasn le DOSS à partir de 2003
Periodontology 2000
Date de publication: 01.02.2000 à Il y a 1 an (embargo) dans Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source(DOSS)
1997 jusqu'à aujourd'hui dans Wiley Online Library Journals. CF. Lien Revues 360
Revue d'Orthopédie Dento-Faciale
Date de publication: Depuis1967
The journal of evidence-based dental practice
Depuis 2001 jusqu'à aujourd'hui dans ScienceDirect.
International Orthodontics
Date de publication: A partir de 2004

Une revue Systématique

Une revue systématique peut être définie comme une démarche Scientifique rigoureuse de revue critique de la littérature médicale consistant à rassembler, évaluer et synthétiser toutes les études pertinentes et parfois contradictoires qui abordent un problème donné et de limiter l’introduction d’erreurs aléatoires et systématiques ou de biais.

Une Méta-analyse

Si les résultats quantitatifs des études peuvent être combinés, on peut calculer une mesure statistique de l'effet global de l'intervention évaluée. On parlera alors de Méta Analyse. Beaucoup de Revues Cochrane mesurent systématiquement les bénéfices et les effets indésirables dans leurs études, afin de fournir une estimation plus précise de l'effet d'une intervention.

Cependant, toutes les revues systématiques n'aboutissent pas forcément à une méta-analyse. En effet, une mesure de l'effet global portant sur plusieurs études de la revue n'est pas appropriée si ces études présentant des designs trop différents, des critères d'évaluation trop éloignés ou une qualité insuffisante.

Liste de revues en odontologie

Revues 360

Chirurgie maxillo-faciale et stomatologie,5ème édition, ClinicalKey student
La réforme du deuxième cycle des études médicales imposait une refonte du programme d’enseignement de stomatologie et chirurgie maxillo-faciale.
C’est chose faite avec cette cinquième édition du Référentiel, entièrement repensée sous la direction du Professeur Pierre Bouletreau et du Docteur Jean-Marc Foletti. Cet ouvrage est, une fois encore, une œuvre collective des enseignants de la spécialité.

Apical Periodontitis in Root-Filled Teeth par Thomas Kvist (Editor)
Cote: Odontologie
ISBN: 9783319572482
Date de publication: 2018
This book is a comprehensive guide to apical periodontitis in root-filled teeth that covers not only all aspects of diagnosis and management but also epidemiology, etiology, consequences, clinical decision-making, and prognosis. There is a particular focus on the available surgical and nonsurgical methods of retreatment designed to restore healthy periapical conditions. Alternatives to retreatment are also explored, including a conservative approach involving monitoring of the diseased tooth without intervention and the option of extraction and replacement with an implant or a fixed prosthesis.
The goal of root canal treatment is to save the natural tooth even when tissue breakdown has resulted in pathological conditions of the pulp and periradicular tissue. However, population studies reveal that complete healing is often absent in root-filled teeth, and apical periodontitis is frequently observed in conjunction with root fillings of poor technical quality. Under these
circumstances, questions arise as to how the apical periodontitis is impacting on the patient and how the condition should be tackled. Readers will find this well-illustrated book to be of great value in directing clinical practice.
Common Complications in Endodontics par Priyanka Jain (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319609966
Date de publication: 2018
This book describes the most commonly encountered endodontic complications and provides up-to-date information on their prevention and management. The opening chapters explain the importance of accurate diagnosis and treatment planning, outline the role of digital radiography and CBCT in managing complications, and highlight the need for close attention to anatomic landmarks in order to avoid damage to neurovascular anatomy. Endodontic problems associated with different procedural errors are then discussed in detail, covering a wide variety of access- and instrumentation-related complications and the difficulties that may arise when using obturation techniques. Readers will also find information on the endodontic–periodontal relationship, special issues in geriatric patients, and the potential medical emergencies and precautions in specific patient subsets. The clear, easy-to-read text is complemented by numerous high-quality photographs and tables that assist understanding and ready identification of management solutions. This book will be of value for all dental practitioners with an interest in endodontics, endodontic specialists, and higher-level students.
Dental Composite Materials for Direct Restorations par Vesna Miletic (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319609607
Date de publication: 2018
This book covers both basic scientific and clinically relevant aspects of dental composite materials with a view to meeting the needs of researchers and practitioners. Following an introduction on their development, the composition of contemporary composites is analyzed. A chapter on polymerization explains the setting reactions and light sources available for light-cured composites. The quality of monomer-to-polymer conversion is a key factor for material properties. Polymerization shrinkage along with the associated stress remains among the most challenging issues regarding composite restorations. A new classification of dental composites is proposed to offer more clinically relevant ways of differentiating between commercially available materials. A review of specific types of composites provides an insight into their key issues. The potential biological issues of dental composites are reviewed in chapters on elution of leachable substances and cariogenicity of resin monomers. Clinical sections focus on material placement, finishing procedures, and the esthetics and clinical longevity of composite restorations. Bonding to tooth tissues is addressed in a separate chapter, as is the efficiency of various composite repair methods. The final chapter discusses future perspectives on dental composite materials.
E-Health Care in Dentistry and Oral Medicine par Nicolas Giraudeau (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319694498
Date de publication: 2018
This clinically oriented book presents the state of the art in e-health care within dentistry and oral medicine (“e-oral health”) with the aim of acquainting dentists and other oral health care professionals with its uses and advantages, especially with regard to diagnosis. It will assist all who wish to learn about teledentistry protocols and the e-oral health branch or to implement e-oral health solutions and procedures in clinical practice. The book opens by discussing general aspects of e-oral health, including tools, networks, and the very important ethical considerations. The use and specific benefits of e-oral health technologies in the diagnosis of different conditions, orthodontic assessment, implantology evaluation, and caries prevention are then fully explained. Finally, examples are provided of the ways in which teledentistry functions in different countries on different continents. e-Oral health is a burgeoning field that encompasses teledentistry as well as other uses of information and communication technologies for oral health care purposes. This book will be an ideal guide for not only dentists but also dental hygienists, dental nurses, and other professionals.
Graftless Solutions for the Edentulous Patient par Saj Jivraj (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319658575
Date de publication: 2018
This book, designed to meet the needs of clinicians, clearly explains the rationale and technique for the rehabilitation of fully edentulous patients utilizing traditional graftless concepts as well as zygomatic implant strategies when posterior support cannot be achieved by the former means. Considerations relevant to treatment planning and the biomechanics of immediate loading and zygomatic implants are first discussed. The techniques for placement of traditional tilted and zygomatic implants and for immediate loading of a full arch restoration are then described step by step. Detailed information and guidance are also provided on the different materials available for full arch restorations, laboratory aspects of the definitive restoration, maintenance of restorations, and management of prosthetic and surgical complications. The book concludes with a helpful series of clinical cases. Graftless Solutions for the Edentulous Patient is designed particularly for clinicians with experience in placing and restoring dental implants.
Management of Deep Carious Lesions par Falk Schwendicke (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319613697
Date de publication: 2018
This book describes the challenges that deep carious lesions pose for dental practitioners, including the risk of endodontic complications and the difficulty of restorative treatment, and identifies options for overcoming these challenges on the basis of the best available evidence. The opening chapter sets the scene by discussing pathophysiology, histopathology, clinical symptomatology, and treatment thresholds. The various treatment options are then systematically presented and reviewed, covering non-selective, stepwise, and selective carious tissue removal and restoration, sealing of lesions using resin sealants or crowns, and non-restorative management approaches. In each case the current evidence with respect to the treatment is carefully evaluated. Advantages and disadvantages are explained and recommendations made on when to use the treatment in question. Illustrative clinical cases and treatment pathways for clinicians are included. This book will be of value for all practitioners who treat dental caries and carious lesions, whether in the permanent or the primary dentition. It will also be of interest to under- and postgraduate students in cariology
Mandibular Implant Prosthesis par Elham Emami (Editor); Jocelyne Feine (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319711799
Date de publication: 2018
Written by leaders in the field, this comprehensive step-by-step guide combines up-to-date clinical and research information that will help clinicians to advance their theoretical and clinical knowledge on mandibular implant overdentures. Furthermore, it describes treatment considerations for geriatric populations, covering all relevant aspects from physiology to treatment planning and patient management in the surgical and prosthetic phases.
The phenomenon of aging is a global concern for policy makers, providers, and the public. Dentists worry especially about the burden their aging patients face to maintain their oral health-related quality of life and well-being. Furthermore, older patients require health care technologies that will enable them to maintain their oral health. Over the past few decades, mandibular implant-assisted complete prostheses have attracted the attention of both patients and clinicians, as research on the biological, functional, esthetic, and psychosocial benefits has increased. This book will be of value for all with an interest in the subject.
Management of Fractured Endodontic Instruments par Theodor Lambrianidis (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319606507
Date de publication: 2018
This superbly illustrated book provides detailed information on the causes of instrument failure during endodontic treatment, the factors influencing the management of such cases, and the diverse management options that may be employed to resolve the problem. Readers will find clear descriptions and comparative evaluation of the available methods, techniques, and devices. Complications that may arise during the management of fractured instruments are described, and the impact of retained file fragments on the prognosis of endodontic treatment is discussed. In addition, means of preventing iatrogenic errors from occurring in the first place (the best form of management) are explained, emphasizing that the risk of instrument failure is reduced if proper guidelines are carefully considered and followed. The book will assist both endodontists and general dental practitioners in achieving an optimal outcome when confronted with the time-consuming and challenging task of dealing with a fractured instrument within the root canal – a still frequent circumstance despite the plethora of improvements in instrument design, alloy composition, and manufacturing processes.
Maxillofacial Cone Beam Computed Tomography par William C. Scarfe (Editor); Christos Angelopoulos (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319620596
Date de publication: 2018
The book provides a comprehensive description of the fundamental operational principles, technical details of acquiring and specific clinical applications of dental and maxillofacial cone beam computed tomography (CBCT). It covers all clinical considerations necessary for optimal performance in a dental setting. In addition overall and region specific correlative imaging anatomy of the maxillofacial region is described in detail with emphasis on relevant disease. Finally imaging interpretation of CBCT images is presented related to specific clinical applications. This book is the definitive resource for all who refer, perform, interpret or use dental and maxillofacial CBCT including dental clinicians and specialists, radiographers, ENT physicians, head and neck, and oral and maxillofacial radiologists.
Oral Mucosa in Health and Disease par Lesley Ann Bergmeier (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319560649
Date de publication: 2018
This book is designed to re-establish the position of the oral cavity and its mucosa at the forefront of defence and maintenance of homeostatic mechanisms that protect against disease not just locally but also systemically. The oral mucosa is a unique collection of tissues that constitutes a highly active environment with its own unique microflora and homeostatic interaction with the innate and adaptive immune responses. As an immune tissue the oral mucosa was somewhat neglected in the past owing to the tendency to assume similarity to the gut mucosa. More recently it has become apparent that the oral mucosa is a complex environment and, like the esophageal mucosa, has more in common with vaginal tissue than with the gut. Furthermore, the ability of the oral mucosa to act as an immune inductive site has made it an attractive area of research in terms of desensitization for allergic reactions and possibly autoimmune responses. In this book, recognized experts in the field provide up-to-date coverage of all aspects of the structure and function of the oral mucosa, reflecting important recent advances in knowledge, including at the molecular level.
Pathogenesis of Periodontal Diseases par Nagihan Bostanci (Editor); Georgios N. Belibasakis (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319537351
Date de publication: 2018
This book aims to provide clinicians with a refined understanding of the biology that underlies periodontal diseases, thereby offering a sound basis for improved clinical decision making with regard to prevention strategies, diagnosis, and therapy. All significant aspects of periodontal pathogenesis are covered, including the roles played by the oral microbiome and biofilms, bacterial virulence factors, cells of the immune system, matrix metalloproteinases, proinflammatory and osteolytic cytokines, genetic factors, and antimicrobial peptides.
Periodontal diseases are among the most common infectious diseases in humans, and the primary cause of tooth loss in adults. The functional and esthetic problems associated with these diseases compromise quality of life, and their treatment imposes large financial burdens on national health systems and private patients. Up-to-date knowledge of periodontal pathogenesis is therefore essential for the contemporary clinician. This book, written by experts from Europe and the Americas, delivers such knowledge in an accessible, clinician-friendly way.
Pit and Fissure Sealants par Katrin Bekes (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319719788
Date de publication: 2018
This book provides wide-ranging information on current clinical and scientific knowledge on the various aspects of fissure sealing. Trends in the epidemiology of caries are first examined, followed by thorough description of the morphology of pits and fissures and types of sealant. The role of sealants in the prevention of caries is discussed. Diagnostic parameters are presented, along with step-by-step descriptions of clinical procedures for fissure sealing. Chapters are also included on alternative techniques of fissure sealing, sealing of carious fissures, and therapeutic fissure sealing. The final chapter in the book focuses on the cost effectiveness of the procedure.

Tooth surfaces with pits and fissures are particularly vulnerable to caries development. Sealants were developed to help manage these sites of the tooth and safeguard the surfaces from decay. This book has been written by acknowledged experts in the field. It will be of value for all dental professionals seeking to deepen their understanding of current knowledge on the science and the clinical application of pit and fissure sealants.
Temporomandibular Disorders par Henry A. Gremillion (Editor); Gary D. Klasser (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319572451
Date de publication: 2018

Topics in Dental Biochemistry par Martin Levine (2011)
Over the last 20 years, biochemistry and molecular biology have undergone a revolution that has affected our understanding of the oral cavity. Topics in Dental Biochemistry is primarily designed for students of dentistry who need to relate biochemistry and molecular biology to dentally related topics in physiology, nutrition, anatomy, histology, microbiology, and immunology. The book will also be of value for dental professionals, scientists, and practitioners of medicine who are interested in hard and soft tissue structure and disease. It provides the necessary basic scientific background for a clearer understanding of bone, tooth, saliva, and surrounding soft tissue research and also for an appreciation of how dental caries and periodontal disease might be better diagnosed and controlled in the future. Dentistry was developed to treat dental caries, but since the early 20th century it has increasingly been treating periodontal, traumatic and genetic diseases affecting tooth structure and attachment. Fluoridation is discussed at length. Other methods for controlling dental caries and new or suggested methods for controlling oral hygiene and periodontal disease are also discussed.
Breath Odors : Origin, Diagnosis, and Management par Nir Sterer, Mel Rosenberg (2011)
Bad breath is a common and embarrassing problem. About 20% of adults suffer from bad breath on a day-to-day basis, and millions more worry about having it. In some cases, telltale breath odors can provide important clues regarding specific diseases. Yet, despite the prevalence and significance of bad breath, most health professionals still know little about its origins, diagnosis, and treatment.

The past fifteen years have witnessed rapid development in research into bad breath. Investigators have studied how bad breath is caused, where the odors originate, and which bacteria and gases are involved. Predisposing dental and medical risk factors have been identified. Novel in vitro systems and measurement techniques have been proposed, and clinical studies conducted to compare new and traditional treatments.

This illustrated text presents, for the first time, a comprehensive and cohesive science-based approach to bad breath, combining basic research with clinical approaches to diagnosis and treatment. All aspects of the subject are examined thoroughly and critically, including the psychological impact of breath odor and future prospects. The authors draw upon more than thirty years’ combined experience in the field, both in the laboratory and as consultants to thousands of patients in Canada, the US, the UK, and elsewhere.
Interface Oral Health Science 2011 par Keiichi Sasaki D.D.S., Ph.D.… (2012)
Interface oral health science was founded on the concept that healthy oral function is maintained by biological and biomechanical harmony between three systems: oral tissues, parasitic oral microorganisms, and biomaterials. On that basis, dental caries, periodontal disease, and temporomandibular joint disorders may be regarded as interface disorders that result from a disruption in the intact interface of these systems. Interface oral health science encompasses the fields of dentistry and dental medicine, but also extends to general medicine, agriculture, biomaterials science, bioengineering, and pharmacology. This book is a compendium of the research presented at symposiums held in 2011 by the Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry and by the Forsyth Institute. Its publication is intended provide further impetus for the progress of oral science and health, pointing the way for dental research for future generations.
Cone Beam CT of the Head and Neck : An Anatomical Atlas par Chung H. Kau, Kenneth Abramovitch… (2011)
'Cone Beam CT of the Head and Neck' presents normal anatomy of the head using photographs of cadavers and CBCT images in sagittal, axial and coronal planes with the anatomic structures and landmarks clearly labelled. Important structures and regions are presented in detailed view. This is the first book with photographs of human tissue (based on slicing of cadaveric heads) combined with CBCT images.
The Neurobiology of Orthodontics : Treatment of Malocclusion Through Neuroplasticity par Margaritis Z. Pimenidis (2009)
This book presents the neurobiology of orthodontics according to the most recently acquired knowledge on the interaction of the brain activity with the senses. In particular, it highlights the ability of orofacial sensory input to modulate and change the brain activity underlying functions of the stomatognathic system, such as chewing, biting, speech, and occlusal feedback. The approach adopted thereby represents a significant departure from the theory and practice of traditional orthodontics, in which malocclusions of the teeth have been interpreted as deriving from DNA coding errors. The described new conceptualization of the etiology and diagnosis of malocclusions has profound implications for orthodontic therapy, as is clearly explained. Orthodontic therapy in turn has significant effects on the brain, which are documented in a chapter devoted to neuroimaging methods. By opening up new and creative pathways in the world of orthodontics, this book will hopefully both educate and excite the practitioner. It is recommended reading for all orthodontists.
Biocompatibility of Dental Materials par Gottfried Schmalz… (2009)
This book provides a comprehensive and scientifically based overview of the biocompatibility of dental materials. Up-to-date concepts of biocompatibility assessment are presented, as well as information on almost all material groups used in daily dentistry practice. Furthermore, special topics of clinical relevance (e.g,, environmental and occupational hazards and the diagnosis of adverse effects) are covered. The book will:

improve the reader’s ability to critically analyze information provided by manufacturers
supply a better understanding of the biocompatibility of single material groups, which will help the reader choose the most appropriate materials for any given patient and thus prevent adverse effects from developing
provide insights on how to conduct objective, matter-of-fact discussions with patients about the materials to be used in dental procedures
advise readers, through the use of well-documented concepts, on how to treat patients who claim adverse effects from dental materials
feature

clinical photographs that will serve as a reference when analyzing clinical symptoms, such as oral mucosa reactions.
Interface Oral Health Science 2009 par Takashi Sasano D.D.S., Ph.D.… (2010)
Since 2002, the Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry has proposed “Interface Oral Health Science” as a major theme for next-generation dental research. That theme is based on the following new concept: healthy oral fu- tion is maintained by biological and biomechanical harmony among three s- tems: (1) oral tissues (host); (2) parasitic microorganisms of the oral cavity (parasites); and (3) biomaterials. The concept implies that oral diseases such as dental caries, periodontal disease, and temporomandibular disorders should be interpreted as “interface disorders” that result from disruption of the intact int- face among these systems. The uniqueness of this concept rests on the fact that it not only encompasses the field of dentistry and dental medicine, but also expands the common ground shared with other fields, including medicine, ag- culture, material science, engineering, and pharmacology. We aim to promote advances in dental research and to activate collaboration with related fields by putting interface oral health science into practice. On this basis, we have already organized the 1st and 2nd International Symposiums for Interface Oral Health Science, which included inspiring special lectures, symposiums, poster pres- tations, and other discussions. The contents of the two symposiums were p- lished as monographs entitled Interface Oral Health Science in 2005 and 2007. The 3rd International Symposium was held in January 2009 as part of this project.